The National Curriculum

“Good balance of teaching and giving children independence in learning” Parent

We teach the following compulsory national curriculum subjects:

  • English
  • maths
  • science
  • design and technology
  • history
  • geography
  • art and design
  • music
  • physical education (PE), including swimming
  • computing
  • ancient and modern foreign languages (at key stage 2)
  • religious education
  • relationship and sex education (RSE)

Parents and carers can ask for their children to be taken out of the whole RE lesson or part of it. They also have the right to request that their child be withdrawn from some or all of sex education delivered as part of statutory RSE

We also teach:

  • personal, social and health education (PSHE)
  • citizenship